About US

About the Dr. KK district

Welcome to Dr. Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality.

he Dr Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality consists of four local municipalities i.e. Matlosana, Tlokwe, Maquassi Hills, and Ventersdorp. The area covered by the District Municipality appears on the map below (Figure B.1) and this is followed by the demographics. The statistical information is the combination of the projections of the 2006 population based on the 2001 Census, the 2007 Community Survey by StatsSA, the Quantec Research of 2008, the Dr Kenneth Kaunda DM Spatial Development Framework of 2011 and other analyses described hereunder. The analyses are based upon demarcations boundaries as at 2010 provided by Statistics South Africa.

District Communications
1994 Established
14,671 KM Square
742 821 Total Population